Bateman Writes: 1994

BBC 6Music recently went back in time to 1994. This made me wonder what albums released that year were my favourites. As previously described on this blog, I have this information readily available. So I quickly crunched the numbers. I focused on full-length albums and, using play density (sum of all plays divided by number of album tracks) as a metric, I plotted out the Top 20.

1994

 

 

There you have it. Scorn’s epic Evanescence has the highest play density of any album released in 1994 in my iTunes library. By some distance. If you haven’t heard it, this is an amazing record that broke new ground and spawned numerous musical genres. I think that record, One Last Laugh In A Place of Dying… and Ro Sham Bo would all be high on my all-time favourite list. A good year for music then as far as I’m concerned.

Other observations: I was amazed that Definitely Maybe was up there, since I am not a big fan of Oasis. Likewise for Dummy by Portishead. Note that Oxford’s Angels and Superdeformed[…] are bootleg records.

Bubbling under: this was the top 20, but there were some great records bubbling under in the 20s and 30s. Here are the best 5.

  • Heatmiser – Cop and Speeder
  • Circle – Meronia
  • Credit to the Nation – Take Dis
  • Kyuss – Welcome to Sky Valley
  • Drive Like Jehu – Yank Crime

I heard tracks from some of these bands on 6Music, but many were missing. Maybe there is something for you to investigate.

Part of a series obsessively looking at music in an obsessive manner.

2 responses

  1. Funny, I thought I was the only person who owned “Stacked Up”.

    1. Love that record. Saw them at Glasto 94. Fantastic stuff.

Leave a Reply

